Nevada changed how child support is calculated effective February 1, 2020. If a parent has sole or primary physical custody, the other parent pays child support based on a percentage of the parent’s gross monthly income (“GMI”) as shown below.
|One Child||Two Children||Three Children||Four Children||Add’l Children|
|First $6,000 of non-custodial parent’s GMI||16%||22%||26%||28%||2% for each add’l|
|Second $6,000 of non-custodial parent’s GMI||8%||11%||13%||14%||1%|
Child support is determined differently if a court orders joint physical custody. It is based on the same percentages above, but the higher income parent owes the lower income parent the difference.
The court calculates child support for low-income payers at 75% to 150% of the Federal Poverty Guidelines.
Childcare costs paid by either party are taken into account by the court.
An order for temporary child support is common while the custody or divorce proceedings are pending.
How Does a Parent Get Child Support in Nevada?
An order for child support can be obtained as follows:
- During a Divorce or Legal Separation;
- As part of an Extended Protection Order (temporarily);
- During a Paternity or Custody suit; or
- Through an enforcement action brought by the Clark County District Attorney Family Support unit.
How Long Does Child Support have to be Paid in Nevada?
Generally, until the child reaches the age of 18. However, if the child is still in high school, child support will continue until the child’s graduation from high school or the child’s 19th birthday, whichever occurs first.
Do I have to Pay for my Child’s College as part of Child Support?
Not unless you specifically agree to it as part of your case.
Can an Order for Child Support be Modified in Nevada?
Yes, under the following circumstances:
- The court must review the child support ordered at least every 3 years at the request of either parent;
- The court may review the child support ordered at any time upon the filing of a motion to modify. Any subsequent modification or adjustment of the child support obligation must be based upon a change in circumstances. For example, a change of 20% or more in the GMI of a person who is the subject of an order for child support; or
- If the parties agree to a modification. However, the court has the power to reject the agreement if it does not comply with Nevada law.
Is Child Support Automatically Deducted from a Parent’s Paycheck in Nevada?
No, but if the parent is 30 days overdue on support, you can ask the court to issue a wage assignment.
How do I Enforce a Child Support Order/What if the Parent refuses to Pay?
By filing a Motion for an Order to Show Cause. This Motion requires the non-custodial parent to explain to the court why he/she should not be found in contempt for failing to pay child support.
Need assistance with filing for divorce or other family issues? Call our Las Vegas Divorce and Child Custody Attorneys today. 702-515-1500.